Jack Taylor

WEEK 6 – ACTIVITY – DRAWING

This week we used the mobile app French Girls to learn how to draw. It’s a simple idea to this app. First, you take a selfie. Second, you posScreen Shot 2014-10-05 at 12.05.40 PMt it on the app. Third, a

My French Girl Drawings

strangers will draw your selfie. And last you get to compare your selfie next to the drawing by the stranger.

I found it very hard to draw on this app. I could not get very detailed drawings and couldn’t make the images I saw in my head come to life on my iPhone. It was also very hard for me to keep my hand steady and make the drawing look real. I couldn’t seem to capture the same quality in my drawings as were in the selfies. Maybe it was because I wasn’t putting enough effort into it. But it was very difficult for me to get all of the details into the drawing. I was spending a lot of time looking at the original and than found myself not being able to transcribe that onto my own drawing.

I was amazed by some of the artwork out there. I had such a difficult time with this app that i felt like other peoples would look just as bad as mine. Somehow people get really good images and I want to know how they do this. I feel like there are people on this app who could be Screen Shot 2014-10-05 at 12.06.17 PM

Other Peoples Drawings of my Selfies on French Girls

professional French Girl drawers. I was blown away by how detailed and intricate their drawings were. People are also very witty on this app. They have interesting ways of interpreting the pictures. I tried to do that with one of my drawings and I feel like it was more of a success than my other photos.

My overall impression of the app is that it’s a nice time killer and fun to look at what other people draw but I’m not very good at finger art on a screen. I would much rather have a pencil and paper and be able to actually manipulate the art. That’s what I disliked the most about the app. There’s no way to really tell how it will look on the screen until you have already committed to a particular finger stroke. My drawings had a bit of a delay so I couldn’t see what I put on the screen until after I lifted my finger and than I would either have to erase or just accept what was on the screen and move on. There was no way for me to manipulate the drawing to give it dimension. Or at least I didn’t have enough patience to find out how to make it work.

Here are some of my favorite drawings on French Girls

Screen Shot 2014-10-05 at 12.07.05 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-05 at 12.06.43 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-05 at 12.06.34 PMScreen Shot 2014-10-05 at 12.06.55 PM

This entry was published on October 5, 2014 at 7:11 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment